DimeStoreSaints.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum dedicated to The Gaslight Anthem - Brian Fallon says: ''For consistent and up to the minute stuff, Dimestore Saints is a great place to check out and hang with some really nice people.''

PortalHomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Beginning guitarist question

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
ForgedInLife
Red In The Morning
Red In The Morning

Beginning guitarist question Empty
PostSubject: Beginning guitarist question   Beginning guitarist question Icon_minitimeWed Jul 18, 2012 10:47 am

Hello all and fellow guitarists.

I am a new guitarist, been playing for about 2 months with just fretting intros to songs and such and feel I am ready to get into chords. I just started learning “Free Fallin’” by Tom Petty and The Navesink Banks by our beloved TGA and those are what sparked me into wanting to start learning chords. I have a question on how to read them…yes they are probably real easy and “noob” questions but I need to know them..So I apologize ahead of time!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Chords used:
G (320033)
Cadd9 (x32033)
D (x00232)
Em7 (022033)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

First question: Above, it tells you how to play the chords for the song obviously and “x” is do not play correct? I figured as much but wanted to make sure.

Verse one:
Em7 D
And how much time do you think that we have?
Cadd9 G
If I wanted to I could start over again
Em7 D
Let the good night decide who she wants me to find
Cadd9 G
And I'll never let you drop another tear in my eye

Chorus:
G Cadd9 G Em7
Singing oh sha la la, oh sha la la, listen honey, here comes my man
G Cadd9 G Em7 D D D D
Singing oh sha la la, oh sha la la, listen honey, here comes my man