DimeStoreSaints.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum dedicated to The Gaslight Anthem - Brian Fallon says: ''For consistent and up to the minute stuff, Dimestore Saints is a great place to check out and hang with some really nice people.''

PortalHomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

I guess I should ...

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
redinthemorn
Red In The Morning
Red In The Morning
redinthemorn

I guess I should ...  Empty
PostSubject: I guess I should ...    I guess I should ...  Icon_minitimeSun Jul 11, 2010 8:19 am

introduce myself? I've been around for a bit, but I haven't done this yet. I'm a journalist from Chicago, working in the 'burbs, and started listening to Gaslight a year or so ago. But I really just recently let myself LISTEN to the music. Since then, since listening to the lyrics, it's almost like my life has changed. I grew up listening to punk rock and ska, and in college I let myself stray because it was easier than seeking out new music, and my friends were more into Dave Matthews than Bad Religion. Not anymore. I'm more willing than ever to seek out new music, and I owe it to the Gaslight Anthem. I'm going to my first TGA show next week in Detroit, and shortly thereafter here in Chicago. I'm dragging a friend who's not as obsessed, but she will be. Anyway, long story short, I'm so glad to have found this forum. I produced hometown punk shows for years in central Illinois -- the Plain White T's played my high school graduation party (before they got big, and mainstream, obviously) -- so I love watching bands grow up, get big. How does this relate to my being a journalist? I write headlines and design pages. My favorite game is trying to work lyrics into headlines; one day recently, I was able to work Gaslight into almost every page I did, without my boss questioning its relevance. Which, honestly, shows just HOW relevant they are.
Back to top Go down